Paisley Love

 

I love dresses with full or 3/4 length sleeves, and I wish I owned more of them. In addition to loving the silhouette, I loved the neutral color palette of this paisley that could be banked back to black or brown (and I like to wear both at the same time!). Due to the nature of my job I look at neckwear a lot and now paisley is on the favorite pattern list.

 

Definition of the Paisley:

“Paisley or Paisley pattern is a droplet-shaped vegetable motif of Indian and Persian origin. The pattern is sometimes called “Persian Pickles” by American traditionalists, especially quiltmakers, or “Welsh Pears” in Welsh textiles as far back as 1888…Resembling a twisted teardrop, the kidney-shaped paisley is Iranian and Indian in origin, but its Western name derives from the town of Paisley, in central Scotland. According to Azerbaijani historians, the design comes from ancient times of Zoroastrianism as an expression of essence of that religion and it became subsequently a decor element which is widely used in Azerbaijani culture and architecture.”

Thank you, Wikipedia.

 Persian Pickles ?

 <Dress: Zara, Belt: J. Crew, Bag: Coach>

Power to the Paisley

I.INC $54.99  II.Wyatt $88  III.Top Shop $100

IV.BCBG Max Azria $238  V.Eighty Six $101  VI.Suzi Chin Maggy Boutique $158

VII.Thread Social $280  VIII.Etro $845  IX.Chloe Sevigny for Opening Ceremony $410

One response to “Paisley Love

  1. Pingback: Paisley Cubed « I Love Brunch And Boots