Boqueria

 

Boqueria is one of my favorite restaurants.  The first time I went, I was with 5 other people and for parties of 6 or more Boqueria insists you partake in the tasting menu.  For $40/person you tell your server if you have any allergies and then you wait and see what is brought from the kitchen to your table, which made for a fun group dining experience.  I’ve been back to Boqueria in Soho and Flatiron since then and knew exactly which items I liked best after trying so many during the tasting menu (the tasting menu is an enormous value, I couldn’t make room for the paella and took the bite of no return where you feel sick afterwards just to try the flan).  No matter what you order, the red sangria (a favorite drink of mine) mixes perfectly with everything.

 

My favorite menu picks

Pintxos Morunos: Seared lamb marinated in lemon and cumin, “salsa verde”

Datiles con Beicon: Dates stuffed with almonds and Valderon, wrapped in bacon (if it’s wrapped in bacon or has the word bacon in the description at all, we order it, rule #1 of going to a restaurant with The Canadian)

Pimientos de Padron: Blistered Shishito peppers, coarse sea salt

Patatas Bravas: Crispy potatoes, “salsa brava”, roasted garlic all i oli

Comments are closed.