Babycakes (Vegan, Gluten-Free and mostly Sugar-Free Recipes)

Vegan, Gluten-Free and (mostly) Sugar-Free Recipes

The Canadian is a bit of a health nut and I’m a bit of a baked good fanatic.  One day I was on Barnes & Noble.com and Babycakes popped up as a recommendation.  I decided to give it a try, it seemed like the perfect middle ground for the 2 of us. 

Erin McKenna spent a year developing her take on baked goods for those diagnosed with wheat and diary allergies (like she was in 2004) and Babycakes was born.  When I first started it felt more like science than baking, and used so many ingredients I had never heard of (xanthan gum was particularly hard to find).  One experience I won’t forget is the first time I tried to make the banana bread.  I think I used the wrong type of flour and the banana bread came out looking like a science project, but, since there’s no butter and sugar involved, it was easy to clean up.  Attempt #2 was much more successful and it tasted like any other banana bread I’d had over the years (except better for you). 

The cookbook is easy to follow if you’re a beginner, ingredients are described in detail and ingredient substitutions are given as well.  If baking at home isn’t your thing, take a trip to Broome St (between Orchard and Ludlow) the shop is adorable!

 

 

Comments are closed.