Retro Stripes

I fell in love with this dress at Zara 2 weeks ago.  In general, I gravitate towards the 60’s and 70’s inspired designs, patterns and colors.  I can’t exactly pinpoint why, but I always have.  While horizontal stripes are usually not flattering, the ones in this dress are variegated and the thickness of the lines varies which creates an optical illusion for your eye.  The material is stretchy yet sturdy and has an exposed zipper in the back (a detail I love). I origianlly had my hair in a high bun but felt it was going overboard on the retro theme, so I switched to a side pony.  Although I love those decades for fashion, I go to work in the year 2011, andI don’t want my co-workers asking me if I was going to a themed party later.  It’s all about taking inspiration from fashion’s past and making it modern.

<Dress: Zara, Bag: Rebecca Minkoff, Bangle & Ring: David Yurman, Jacket: H&M>

One response to “Retro Stripes

  1. Pingback: Striped Again « I Love Brunch And Boots