Make Your Move by Mackenzie of Design Darling

Please welcome Miss Mackenzie Horan from Design Darling guest posting today!  

Design Darling is always filled with great images of both fashion and interiors.  I’m also so impressed with everything Mackenzie has accomplished while she was a student academically and professionally, and secretly wish I had used my time at school more wisely!  Mackenzie recently moved, and I have experience with changing cities as well, read below for her experience.

 
Hi there! I’m Mackenzie from Design Darling and I recently made the move from the east coast out to San Francisco to intern for Rue Magazine. I understand Diana moved to New York City under similar circumstances a few years back and I wanted to share some of the things I’ve learned during this exciting adventure!
The move didn’t start to feel real until I had made up my mind to go, booked my flight, and said good bye to a handful of friends. I was equally excited and nervous for what lay ahead. The thought of leaving my family, my friends, my boyfriend, even my puppies… It was all so overwhelming! I had this fear that I would be so lonely without them. It wasn’t until I actually got out here that I realized being alone doesn’t have to mean being lonely. Everyone I knew and missed was only a phone call away and the chance to be alone actually gave me the time I’d been craving to focus on the things I love to do: blogging, exploring my new city, reading, watching movies in bed. I’ve even taught myself to prepare a few basic meals! (Anyone who knows me will find this genuinely shocking.)
My move to San Francisco might not be as permanent as Diana’s move to New York but I’m determined to make the very most of this rare opportunity to live in a different city. Even if I do return to my native tristate area at the end of September, I’ll do it as a more confident and more independent version of my former self. I’ll have a new city, a host of new friendships, and a new wealth of work experience under my belt — and that’s a feeling I wouldn’t trade for all the loneliness in the world. Coming out here was a risk, both personally and professionally, but I have a hunch that somehow it’ll be worth it. I’d love to hear whether any of you have taken similar risks and how they panned out for you in the end.
Thanks so much for having me, Diana!

Mackenzie- thank you so much for sharing your experience!

To those of you graduating or contemplating a change, good luck taking the plunge…

 
2 responses to “Make Your Move by Mackenzie of Design Darling

  1. Good for you, Mackenzie!! I hope that your internship turns out to be the best experience so far.

  2. Pingback: Design Darling The Boutique | i love brunch & boots