McQueen at The Met

“I want to empower women.  I want people to be afraid of the women I dress.” – McQueen

I went to The Met on Friday night to see The Alexander McQueen Savage Beauty exhibition, and I was blown away.  The wait was only 30 minutes (Museum Members skip the line or you can pay $50 to go on Monday when the museum is normally closed).  However you choose to go, this is a must-see. 

 I had no idea the exhibition would encompass so much.  Each room focuses on a different type of McQueen’s romance (Mind, Gothic, Nationalism, Exoticism, Primitivism, and Naturalism).  There are so many garments, accessories and runway experiences to take in, it’s a sensory overload in the most amazing way. 

What blew me away most was how many elements were incorporated into each garment, yet it still looked so cohesive.  And while each room looked and felt very different, there was still a high level of continuity present, a skill that is rightly coveted because it is so difficult to achieve (especially in such a beautifully crafted way).  McQueen was constantly playing with opposites, extremes, taking inspiration from nature, animals and creating an environment through fashion that might have made you uncomfortable, but also made you think. 

I also recommend the audio in which you hear accounts from people such as Sarah Burton, Philip Treacy and Sarah Jessica Parker who had first hand experiences with the legendary man.  We literally finished the exhibition as it was closing and I managed to buy a small replica of the famous Armadillo shoe before the gift shop closed. 

The exhibition ends August 7th.

Comments are closed.