Fall 2011 Reading List

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

This book was easy to understand even though it’s filled with medical terminology.  I thought Rebecca Skloot did a great job of weaving the story of Henrietta and her family alongside the history of cells.

Saturday

This book was hard for me to get into.  However, Ian McEwan builds the suspense of what transpires like a slow burn, you know what’s coming, but you can’t wait to find out how.  There was also an interesting moral dilemma, begging the reader to answer, ‘what would you do?’

Little Bee

This could have been a depressing story, and even though it was sad, it was written in a way that didn’t make me feel hopeless at the end of it.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

This book was hilarious and I laughed out loud multiple times.  I always find it inspiring to hear about the trials and mishaps that successful people went through to get where they are, it makes me feel like I just need to keep going, no matter what happens.  I also enjoy her blog, Things I’ve Bought That I Love.

A Visit From The Goon Squad

If only I could see who and how my life choices intersect with others (like the maps in The Adjustment Bureau). I liked how an innocuous character made a later appearance in the book, furthering my Sliding Doors belief that it all starts and ends somehow at a similar place.

City of Thieves

It’s amazing how writers can take a story about a dozen eggs and make it so much more.  This book was very enjoyable.

The Book Thief

A story about a girl, her family, World War II, and stealing…with an unexpected narrator.  A well written story.

The Paris Wife

 A hauntingly beautiful story about Hemingway and his first wife, Hadley.  It was also interesting to hear about the people in addition to Hemingway (Fitzgerald, Stein and others) and their work before they became the legends they are today.

One response to “Fall 2011 Reading List

  1. I think we may be reading soul mates! I also read The Immortal Life of Henrietta Slacks and The Book Thief this fall and have the Mindy Kaling book and City of Thieves on my to be read pile. Thanks for the reviews, I think I’ll get my husband to start City of Thieves tonight as I’ve heard it’s a good one to discuss with men!