Summer Reading

Swamplandia

I enjoyed how this book started, wasn’t sure about it in the middle and was happy with where it ended. The writing was good and the story was original, but mostly I just felt sad for the characters.

The Night Circus

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. The world is so fantastical, yet so believable at the same time, you wish The Night Circus actually existed.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

I put off reading this trilogy for a long time, mostly because I didn’t know how I would feel about it. The writing is fast paced and I was surprised by how much I liked it. I just finished The Girl Who Played With Fire and I’m onto Book 3 next.

Everything is Illuminated

This book was original, memorable and well written.

Thinking in Pictures

An insightful read into Temple Grandin’s life, work and autism. The HBO special is next in our Netflix queue.

Steve Jobs

This book took me a long time to read (mostly because we bought the actual book and I couldn’t bring it on the subway everyday), but I was definitely fascinated. I especially enjoyed reading about Pixar and the marketing concepts behind each campaign.

Girls In White Dresses

A book almost anyone can relate to. As you follow a group of friends living in New York City regarding jobs, boyfriends, and yes, weddings, there are experiences in here everyone can find amusing (mostly because they’ve been there).

The Perks of Being A Wallflower

A book with a powerful message told in a diary format heard only from one perspective. I’m excited by the trailer and I think Emma Watson is going to be an excellent choice as Sam.

By Invitation Only

This book was so inspiring! Best friends who are business savvy, love fashion and start a company so anyone can snag a great designer bargain, what’s not to love?

Gold

This is a great book to read right now. It centers on 3 Olympic caliber cyclists and their careers since they were 19 as they race towards London.

Gone Girl

A fast paced, twisted thriller. I enjoyed this smart story where you’re never sure what each character is capable of.

One response to “Summer Reading

  1. I love The Perks of Being A Wallflower. It’s one of my favorites! Girls In White Dresses sounds really great. 🙂