Fall/Winter 2012 Reading List

reading list jan 2013

The Innocents

The writer took inspiration from Edith Wharton as well as her own family history for this story. I found all of the traditions fascinating.

Where We Belong

I enjoyed the perspectives from both main characters in this story, but the ending left me wanting a lot more.

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao

I loved this story. Not only is the writing highly original, you’re able to read multiple stories within one book because it spans generations of this one (highly unlucky) family.

My Berlin Kitchen

This was a great vacation read. Also, if you’re hoping for an inspiration to start cooking more at home, this book will give you that spark.

Where’d You Go Bernadette?

A delightful story told in letter form. I laughed out loud and would now actually consider going to Antarctica.

Seating Arrangements

All about the happenings one weekend before a wedding. Filled with typical bad behavior, misguided ideas and drinking. The father figure made me cringe with embarrassment as well as fury.

I don’t know how she does it

I wasn’t sure how I felt about this book while I was reading it, and honestly I’m still not sure now that I’ve finished. I thought some of it was spot on, some of it was funny, and some of it repetitive; but I would say overall, I enjoyed it.

The Death of Bees

Given the dark nature of the subject manner, I enjoyed this book. Anytime a writer makes me root for the characters against steep odds is fine with me.

Currently reading but haven’t quite reached The End

The Marriage Plot

News From Heaven

One response to “Fall/Winter 2012 Reading List

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!