Pinterest vs Real Life- Bridal Shower Edition

shower collage

Given the amount of weddings we’ve been to (17 including ours), I haven’t been to many bridal showers (3 including my own). I recently had one of my best friend’s bridal showers and wanted to show how Pinterest can translate to real life, and how a few little things can make a big impact.

1. Choose a theme and or color story

The biggest thing that helps me when planning a party are parameters to stay within, because there are almost too many ideas out there now!

We decided the theme would be BBQ chic, so I bought kraft paper plates and wooden utensils. We also stuck to the colors from the invitations which were grey and yellow. Napkins, tablecloths and striped straws are an easy way to infuse color to any table.

IMG_1005

top image: pinterest, bottom image: real life

Screen Shot 2014-05-06 at 7.54.54 AM

 Minted invitation

 Favors

IMG_4459

Tins, stickers, bbq rub

2. Use items you already have

Last year when my florist created my trial center piece, she had to use some fake flowers, which looked really nice. I kept them and bought some tulle to recreate this wedding door ornament.

IMG_0999                                                                                                   

                          pinterest                                                          real life

3. Little things can go a long way

I was probably most excited to try to recreate this rice krispy cake idea as one of the desserts for our BBQ themed shower. Thanks to Smitten Kitchen, I already knew I had a great recipe and I had previously purchased a set of 3 nesting pans from Crate and Barrel. I found a shop on Etsy called Better Off Wed which had gorgeous cake toppers. I decided to go with ‘love’ in grey so I can reuse it in the future, and it’s much too pretty not to!

IMG_0998

                          pinterest                                                      real life

IMG_0976

 Our other dessert, mini apple pies

IMG_2152

mini apple pie prep the day before the shower

IMG_1008

 pinterest                                                                    real life

I was really happy with how great these drink tags looked when they arrived, but adding each person’s name made them even more cute. I bought disposable wine glasses for the sangria, which made it easy for everyone to put their drinks down without worrying if they were stealing someone else’s glass.

table

beverage and dessert table

food table

food table

Comments are closed.